Secondary Menu

Central Queensland University

CRICOS code: 00219C

Australia’s largest regional university with over 35,000 students, 20+ locations, 300+ TAFE and University qualifications, flexible study options, practical learning experiences and pathway options.

Quick Facts



Inquire Now

About Central Queensland University


CQUniversity Australia was originally founded in Rockhampton in 1967 and was known as the Queensland Institute of Technology (Capricornia). In 1974 it became one of the very few Australian institutes to commence the delivery of distance education.

Between 1978 and 1989 further campuses were established in Bundaberg, Emerald, Gladstone, and Mackay and in 1992 the Institute achieved full University status to become known as Central Queensland University.

Currently, after a merger with CQ TAFE was established on 1 July 2014, CQUniversity is responsible for providing a diverse range of training and education programs and courses to more than 30,000 students studying qualifications from certificate to post doctorate level.


CQUniversity is currently ranked in the Top 500 universities worldwide and is in the Top 2% in the world by Times Higher Education.

Programs Offered

  • Business and Law
  • Education and the Arts
  • Engineering and Technology
  • Human, Health, and Social Sciences
  • Medical and Applied Sciences
  • Nursing and Midwifery
  • Vocational Engineering and Trades
  • Vocational Business and Humanities
  • TAFE and Training

This school’s location

CQUniversity has 15 campuses including newly merged regional Queensland campuses in Gladstone, Emerald, Mackay and Rockhampton along with existing campuses in Adelaide, Bundaberg, Brisbane, Cairns, Gladstone, Mackay, Melbourne, Rockhampton, Noosa, Sydney and Townsville.

Other locations for CQUniversity are currently established in Biloela, Cairns, Cannonvale, Charters Towers, Cooma, Edithvale, Geraldton, Karratha, Perth and Yeppoon.

Live, learn, explore. Study Abroad.

Inquire Now